Bad Habits that = Aged Smiles

So I was at a dinner the other night, and was very thoroughly enjoying my meal with a great glass of wine, great dessert, and ended it with a very tasty cappuccino. Sounds like a great dinner right?…Well it was until I was told by my dinner company that I had some bad habits to work on if I was trying to avoid aging. Got me intrigued so I continued to listen and was told of many bad habits we all seem to inhabit. bad_habits_logo

Did you know drinking coffee, wines, pop, and eating mustard, ketchup, and pasta’s can completely discolor your teeth? And that consuming these foods and beverages at a frequent rate can damage your teeth? These foods will cause cavities and plaque which in turn, becomes acidic.

How many of you grind your teeth whilst sleeping? Bet you don’t even know you’re doing it. I had no idea I was doing it until cracks were pointed out in my teeth. I was also told that if I don’t get a night guard it will cause my face to start sagging because my teeth will lose the support guard. By grinding your teeth you will wear down the enamel, which will cause about 10 years of aging to your face (you better believe I have a night guard, no sagging for me)!

Thankfully I never took on the bad habit of smoking, but ladies if you do, please listen up. Smoking causes gum disease. I was told that if you smoke one pack a day, you will most likely loose 2 to 3 teeth every 5 to 10 years. Smoking also stops saliva to produce which is essential to a clean and fresh mouth. Bad breath is right up there as well. Yes we can smell you smokers, there is no gum that will cover up that odor.

Lastly, ladies please stop using your teeth as bottle openers, cutting scissors, or shell crackers. They are your teeth, treat them well. When you are eating, that should be the only time your teeth touch. Any kind of pressure will cause cracks and chips. Once you have a fractured tooth, you have to learn to live without it. So be very careful with what and how you’re using your mouth.

I hope these few pointers were helpful. They were for me. Take your health very seriously, we live in a day and age of convenience. However don’t short change your longevity of beauty by making short cuts!!!

– Shivani

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty

One response to “Bad Habits that = Aged Smiles

  1. Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google. I have a blog on online stock trading, I’ll bookmark your site.

Leave a comment